Quick Asian Steak Salad with Ginger, Soy Miso dressing

I was starving when I started writing this post about 10 minutes ago, on this cold, windy afternoon having missed breakfast.  When the kids and I got home from a Classical Conversations open house we’re considering for the boys next year, I looked in my fridge to find a pound of baby spinach, and leftover rib eye for dinner last night.

I had a hankering for soy sauce so googled asian dressings and was inspired to make an asian steak salad.

I used a recipe off a dressing maker I received from my friend Liz with some small alterations.  I’ll use less oil next time and forgot the water, but it was good despite those two mis-steps.  I topped the dressed salad with roughly broken pieces of plain ramen (you can use 1 package of the noodles in Top Ramen (a brand known to all college students) – I used this kind because we have an H-Mart by our house.) and the sliced, cooked steak.

Here’s the asian ginger dressing recipe on the Storehouse dressing maker that looks like this (with some alternations of course):

1. 3 garlic cloves (1 tsp. of Trader Joe’s garlic paste)
2. 1 1/2 Tbsp. grated ginger
3. 3/4 C. grape seed oil
4. a splash of sesame oil
5. 1/3 C. rice vinegar (I used a combo of mirin and rice since I didn’t have enough rice)
6. 1/8 C. low sodium soy sauce
7. 2 Tbsp. fine sugar
8. 1 Tsp. white miso paste
9. Crushed red pepper flakes to taste
10. 1/4 C. water (forgot this!  No wonder it was so thick!)

This should make enough for an entire pound of baby spinach (depends how heavily you dress your greens). And you can always use 1/2 on a salad and the rest as a dressing for cold, cooked pasta for an asian noodle pasta salad.  Just top with some sliced green onions/scallions and shredded carrots or red pepper and you have a great summer BBQ side dish.

The best part of this recipe is that because I had the steak and the ramen noodles were pre-packaged, lunch was ready in about 3 minutes.  Not too shabby. Needless to say, I am no longer hungry.

 

Leave a Reply

