Using Google to Thank a Stranger

Gratitude is important.  Zenhabits did a cool post about Why Living a Life of Gratitude Can Make you Happy.

So what does Google have to do with gratitude you may ask?

I love Google.  It can help me find a good recipe, come up with ideas to keep my children entertained during this endless winter, or look for real estate.  But what I love Google for more than anything else is looking for people.  So when I came across a Humans of New York post where a student listed his 7th grade teacher as the most influential person in his life, I used Google to find the teacher to pass along the gratitude.  (I love Humans of New York.  Its premise is simple and personal in a world filled with disingenuousness.)

So through the power of the Google search engine, I found Mr. T.  He’s now teaching in the NC public schools.  I figured he’s probably the same guy since he got his degree at Queens College in NYC.  So I got his email off the Monroe High School website and sent him an email.  I copied his Principal and VP so they knew what a gem they had (in case they didn’t already know how awesome he is!). Don’t forget to copy bosses when you thank someone on email whether its your mail man, teacher, or doctor. Every boss likes to hear his/her co-worker is doing a good job.

The cool part of this story?  He just got a HS teacher of the year award so as I wrote on the post’s comments, “He’s clearly still kicking butt and taking names!”

Below is the post from Human of New York.  It is their property and not mine.  I’m just reposting so folks know which post I’m referring to in this post.  You might not be able to see the image but you can look at the student’s quote.  It was posted yesterday.  Here have been over 2500 comments and 65,000 likes.  Not too shabby, Mr. T.

“Who would you say has influenced you most in your life?”
“My 7th grade math teacher, Mr. Tejada.”
“How did he influence you?”
“It’s hard to explain. He’s the only one who would give me extra credit when I was failing. And if I didn’t know something, he’d know what to do.”
Photo: "Who would you say has influenced you most in your life?"<br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
"My 7th grade math teacher, Mr. Tejada."<br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
"How did he influence you?"<br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
"It's hard to explain.  He's the only one who would give me extra credit when I was failing.  And if I didn't know something, he'd know what to do."
Leave a Reply

