Birthdays and Chocolate Cake with Caramel Icing

So this post is a month late.  My husband’s birthday was last month and I wanted to make him something special for dessert.  Even though he had no opinion regarding what he wanted made for his birthday dinner or dessert, I know he loves all things chocolate and heath bar is a favorite. So I thought a chocolate cake with heathbar/caramel icing would be a good bet.

I love a moist cake so (of course) googled “moist chocolate cake” and found Jennifer Pallian’s recipe on foodness. Oh, and I searched google images and picked Jennifer’s recipe based on how her cake turned out.

#3 “helped” make this so it was a nice little morning activity for her.  I then went to facebook to our resident cupcake expert, Samantha De Coup for a caramel frosting to top the cake.  I added too much milk so my frosting didn’t come out as airy as it would have if I followed her directions, but hey, I’m not a baker (shrug). I have to pull the pics off my husband’s iPhone (lost mine…long, sad story) since my Blackberry takes horrible pictures.

This cake was freakin’ awesome.  I will definitely make this again.  It was so sweet and chocolatey, but its a birthday, so indulging was necessary.

At the end of the day, my husband is a great blessing to me.  So easy-going that he wouldn’t even ask for a special dessert on his birthday.  So glad he was the reason for the cake.  Love him!

Leave a Reply

