Broken doors, procrastination and googling “world’s best” recipes

Between my daughter being sick, a head cold, two broken doors knobs, two broken lights, and this rain, algebra will only be happening tonight, if at all.

Williams-Sonoma Pecan Pumpkin Butter Dessert Squares

As my husband fixes the door(s), I did my favorite procrastination activity of googling for recipes for ingredients I’m interested in using.  Most of my google searches begin with “quick/fast/easy/world’s best recipe for and then my chosen “ingredient.”  Another favorite search term is “authentic (insert ethnicity) recipes for (insert ingredient).”  I’ve found some great blogs on ethnic cooking which I still read today.

Back to the pumpkin bars…

I had some pumpkin puree, which I threw in a pan with pumpkin spices (minus nutmeg because #2 is allergic to nuts) so wanted to make some sort of robust dessert bar.  I had #3 use the can opener and scoop out the puree into the pan as her physical therapy for the morning (she was born with low muscle tone has gets therapy through Montgomery County Infants and Toddlers Program.  She loves to help in the kitchen and its a way we can do things together and she can do little things throughout the day to help her get stronger.

I found Bakerella’s post for William-Sonoma Pecan Pumpkin Butter Dessert Squares which seemed the closest of what I was envisioning (I’m a foodie so Pinterest images and google images of food are how I decide on recipes to make).  I found her post a bit meandering and the structure of the ingredients at the end of the post annoying but her ingredients and general recipe taken from William Sonoma pumpkin bars was spot on.  We’ll see how it turns out.

The bars are now in the oven so I think I’ll pick up the living room so the boys have a calm and somewhat peaceful space to do their homework when they get home. As I put the water on for a cup of Via and think about what recipe I’m going to google for my short-ribs, I think, sometimes, you have to give yourself a break.  I have 6 more days until my 2nd exam.

Its ok to take care of the home front for the afternoon.  The work will still be there tonight (or tomorrow).

~ Becky

Leave a Reply

