Sanity Comes When You Let Go

I’ve been a SAHM for two weeks now and the house still is a shambles.  On top of that, my kids had head lice (joy to buses and public school) and my husband was on travel for 3 days.

Between sanitizing my kids, myself and my house of those DISGUSTING, DISGUSTING things (I’m itching just thinking about it), all my plans to organize and get our life in order on the home front went out the window and my stress level rose and rose.

So how better to cope than going to Pinterest, right?  So, I ended up spending way too much time being “inspired” and less time organizing.  I had intended to do a lot of catch up homework for my Algebra class but ended up letting go of that goal this week.

Surprisingly, once I let go of my huge (and unrealistic) to-do list (sell a bunch of our stuff on ebay, craigslist, etc. and declutter my house), I freed myself up to focus more on a few important things and kept my sanity.  Most of all, I spent important time being present with my daughter and boys while my husband was on travel for work.

So when you’re feeling overwhelmed, take a step back and let go.  Who are you trying to impress anyway, right?  So I’m closing out this week with a few things checked off my to-do list and a lot more not checked but I’m also much more relaxed then I was at the beginning of the week.

Not a bad way to start out the weekend.  As my husband always says, the work will be there tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

